Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sharpen Drill Bit

I have a very dull bit, but it is long and expensive, what is the best way to sharpen it? I saw the Drill Doctor, is it worth it? Or should I just try to file it?

what's the drill made of? just regular metal or carbide tipped?

Comment

just a regular drill bit. There are several actually. Thanks for the reply, I love this place!

Comment

Drill bit sharpening

Most drill bits can be sharpened manually with a fine grit wheel. The web, the midpoint between the two flutes should be maintained at a 60 degree angle, 1) to make it drill accurately and 2) to give a sharp cutting angle. The back side of a cutting edge is called the "rake angle."

Comment

Drill Sharpening

I have one of the drill doctors and am happy with it. I'm a retired machinist however and do a lot of drilling in metals. The thing I like about them is the split point feature. This grinds the web of the drillbit, to extend the cutting edge of the flute right into the center of the bit. This makes for easier and more accurate drilling in harder metal.
          Last I saw, the price on these was aprox. $150. If you have manual dexterity they can be sharpened on a bench grinder. Start with a freshly dressed grinding wheel and the tool rest adjusted to within 1/16" from the wheel (safety item). If you must wear gloves use leather. Any kind of fabric is a no no. (safety again)