Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dishwasher leak

Greetings,

I joined this group after reading the excellent advice given to folks. I am a novice home repair dude with a Kitchen Aid Superba Selectra dishwasher model KUDA22ST. It is about 19 years old. It has suddenly started to put a small amount of water (from 1 tablespoon to 1/4 cup) out the right hand side of the base of the door when in the wash and rinse cycles. We have checked the lower wash arm for splits-none found, we have spun it by hand and it "seems" to be free-it does have a slight wobble but not enough to touch anything to stop it, we have checked the screws in the pump housing-all tight. We have checked the water level-this seems to be about 3/4" deep near the door about 1-3/4" deep in the center and about 3/4" over the heat coil and also seems to be the height of the float (in the left corner near the door) cut off level (is this the normal high water cut -off mechanism or is it supposed to be on a timer or other cutoff system?). The wife says this "seems" to be the same level it has always been. We removed the door and cleaned all parts of "gunk" and reassembled. It didn't leak the first time we ran it after that (but then she had removed all the water from the area around the pump and cleaned that) but did on subsequent times. The door gasket "seems" to be OK but has 19 years of time and use on it.

What other checks can I make or what other information can I provide?

Thanks,

George
    Last edited by Dan O.; 03-28-2011, 04:19 PM. Reason: corrected message title

Overfilling?

it does have a slight wobble but not enough to touch anything to stop it
    If it's not running tru it could be binding at times. It doesn't need to actually strike something for its rotation to be affected.

water level about 3/4" over the heat coil
    The water level should NOT usually be above the element, just slightly below it.

seems to be the height of the float