Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knob & Tube w/ Cellulose

Hi--

I am in a house that was built in 1921. It has knob and tube and is still running electricity that way. We've had an experienced electrician come and inspect all the wires and breaker box and retrofit all the plugs to be grounded. We asked him if cellulose could be blown in over the knob and tube in the attic and he said that'd be fine because the wires are still in good shape.

I called an insulation company with experience in knob and tube and they said it's fine, as well. Especially because cellulose is non-flammeable.

I still have reservations, though. Despite both the electrician and insulation company saying it's safe, I'm worried.

Should I be? Has anyone else blown in cellulose over knob and tube?

We are planning on only blowing in the cellulose in the attic, not the walls.

Thank you!

I'm a master electrician of 42 years experience and all my inspectors say NO to blown in insulation over knob and tube. The wiring was installed on porcelain knobs approx 2 1/2 from the joist surface. Why you ask? Because of radial cooling. Knob and tube wiring, a jute fiber weave over rubber insulation over a tinned or not tinned metal wire needs free circulating air to be effective over its entire length. branch circuits used this type of wire in a woven tube called loom perhaps over its length, perhaps not. it was free fed into cast iron "boxes" if you could call them boxes. much of it was just poked through holes in the plaster and lath to fixtures. splices were wrapped, tinned and soldered then taped. a poor splice meant heat and eventual failure and a possible fire. NO, NO BLOWN IN INSULATION FOR ANY REASON!

Comment

Thanks, HayZee.

So what kind of insulation do you recommend for knob & tube?

Comment

NOTHING REALLY. replace the knob n tube with romex or bx and you can blow in whatever you want!

Comment