Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outlets working intermitantly

First, please forgive me for this long and boring story. My wife kept this a secret from me for a while.

About a year ago, three pairs of non-GFCI outlets in the two upstairs bathrooms went dead. My wife found the GFCI in the downstairs bathroom tripped. She reset it and the upstairs went live again. This has occurred, she tells me, about five times. The reason I finally found out about it is that her fix stopped working. The upstairs outlets went dead, but the downstairs GFCI was not tripped and was working fine. Then the upstairs spontaneously came back for a few days and now has gone dead again.

Gentlemen, I am mystified. Do you have any ideas on this matter? I am not an electrician but do have a multimeter, can follow instructions and am not stupid.

Thank you!!

early gfci receptacles used back stabs to connect them up. pull the gfi and see if the wires are loose. if the outlet also has screws, connect the wires here including the downstream feeds. I'd trust screws more often than back stabs

Comment

Charred insulation??

I pulled the GFCI (got a little finger buzz...the circuit to the room is not necc the same as to the plug!). I noticed the insulation of the white load-charge line was a little charred very near the screw. Also the metal of the screw, itself, was slightly discolored. All the wires were tightly in place, and I am assuming the GFCI itself has gone bad. I will replace it tomorrow and let you know what happens.

Is the evidence of heat normal?

Comment

Heat not normal

I found this link on the subject:

wiki.answers(dot)com/Q/Gfci_outlet_feels_warm_to_the_touch

I am not supposed to post links you you will have to replace the (dot) with a period.

Comment

Originally posted by Springer View Post
          Is the evidence of heat normal?
          How old is your house?