Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Arc breakers....

Didn't want to hi-jack Jack-of-all-Trades post on this. HayZee, you affectionatley referred to the 'new fangled arc breakers'...what are these?

AFCI's - Arc Fault Circuit Interrupters

I am a Master electrician and will tell you that my personal house has these in my loadcenter for all 15 and 20 amps 120V circuits. Simply put.... A typical circuit breaker is designed to trip the circuit in either of the following 2 conditions. The first a short circuit (usually the current carrying conductor..hot wire... either shorts out to the neutral... white wire... or directly to ground) which is called an instantaneous trip. The other is a thermal overlaod which is heat buildup on the conductors over a short period typically due to overloading the circuit. Example of this is powering a 1500 watt hair dryer and an electric iron on the same 15A circuit.

OK...so what does an AFCI do that is different. It protects for the two situations listed above PLUS for an arc fault condition. Arc Faults could be a frayed extension cord or a damaged piece of Romex behind a wall caused by a nail or metal staple that accidently pierced the romex cable. These arc faults will intermittently spark ( not enough to trip a typical breaker ) but enough to build up enough heat to start a fire over time. An AFCI, through it's electronics will sense these arc faults and trip the breaker to prevent a potential fire.

Yes they cost more than a typical breaker....but after I saw a demonstration of how these really work, I sleep a whole lot better at night knowing that these are protecting the circuits in my kid's bedrooms.

Hope that helps !

Comment

CaptBob read omken's response. covers all bases. arc-fault breakers.

Comment

AFCI and GFCI compatibility

Greetings,

I believe that I understand the functions of these two types of breeakers.