Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Additional Outlets in Garage

Hi everybody,
    Great forum with vast amounts of information.

I have a question about adding some additional outlets in my garage for my workbench, but there seems to be a quirk in the wiring. The thing is that my existing single outlet in the garage seems to be wired to my GFCI in my 2 bathrooms and also the outlet that is on the back deck. So when I have my pond pump running in the backyard, the lights on in one of the bathrooms and a power miter saw going on in the garage (may sound like a lot going on,but it has happened), the circuit trips. It's a 15A circuit by the way. I would just add a new circuit for the garage all by itself, but the main breaker doesn't have any free spots available. Is there a way to get my additional outlets and not have the tripping issue?

I am not an electrician but have studied and installed electrical wiring for some time. I think you need the additional breaker box with a new breaker for what you want to do. Then throw your additional garage outlets on the new breaker. You might also take the garage outlet off the GCFI if you need to saw on that outlet. 15 Amps is not a lot -- every breaker in my new 2-story garage is no less than 20 amps.