Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Something not to do

When I purchased this house I had it home inspected, I couldn't do the home inspection myself as it would have been too biased as I am a home inspector.

The home inspector said he didn't like the sub-panel in the garage area since it had a 50 amp circuit hanging off the side for a welder (the only thing he found bad about this panel).
    After I got down here and moved in I was looking at that panel and tried to trace it back to the main panel on the other side of the house and couldn't see a breaker for this panel. Since I was too busy unpacking I really didn't have time to mess with it anymore, Over this past weekend I had to move the stove so I went down and turned off the breaker for the stove. Come to find out the #6 wire going to the stove is spliced inside the wall and ran to the main breaker feeding the sub-panel. Think this is bad? The #14 wire feeding the microwave is ran from this sub-panel and connected not to a breaker in this panel but to main connection doubled up with the #6 wire feeding this panel that is connected to the stove 60 amp breaker.

The real bad part is the #6 wire that is spliced inside the wall looks to be original and being the same wire that's ran all the to the main panel and sub-panel. I woud like to meet the electrician so I know who not to use.

Another company not to hire;