Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fixture trouble

This is my first time attempting any electrical job... Parents house has had a bad light fixture in their utility room. Turn on light, it flicks on and immediately turns off. Well, I studied up, bought a tester and went at it. Opened light switch and confirmed hot wire was hot. Turned off breaker. Easily traded out old switch for new. Turns out the house uses white wire as hot and black wire as ground/neutral. Backwards, right? So, turned power back on, confirmed hot, and turned switch on. Light fixture didn't work. Turned power off, unscrewed light fixture and pulled down wires to test. Knowing that wires are switched, turned power back on and tested hot wire (white). No power to it. Tried black too, no power either. Besides being backwards, do I need new hot wire from switch to fixture? Switch has power, but not getting any power from light fixture. Any help would be great!

Another question. Since in this house white is hot, what is black? Neutral or ground? I wired the black, which doesn't show hot, to the ground at the switch. The white, definately hot, wire is in its normal terminal in a single-pole. Does the black, neutral? or ground?, wire need to not go on the ground side but over to the other side with the hot, some reason white wire? Do I sound like a novice or what? I'll have a electrician here yet!

Comment

While your wires are backward, they should still work fine. Whichever wire is hot (white in your case) goes to one terminal on the switch. The hot wire to the light goes to the other terminal on the switch.