Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Subfloor question

Hello,
    I had to replace some of the subfloor in a hallway which had 3/4in oak t & g planks which continue out to the living room so now I need to put new hardwood down.
    The house has settled a bit and the floor is not very level so when I put down new plywood on the floor joists I noticed some low and high spots and now I am unsure about putting the flooring down.
    Is there any material you would suggest for a thin underlayment that wood help level out the surface. The original floor had some kind of brown paper under it.
    Can I just install the planks if the floor is not perfectly flat or do I definitely have to do "something" first?
    Please advise, I am new to this stuff
    Thank you.

If ther are big dips in the floor then you would want to fill those with something.You can either skim the floo r with a floor patch or you can just use tar paper and double it up in the low spots.
    You will have some of that with the way the joists are anyway as the plywood will sag inbetween them,but if there are big dips inthere then you would want to do something with that[8D]

Floorman
    floorlayers union local 1310
    Floorman

Comment