Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Subfloor squeaks

I'm new to Home Repair Forum. If there's a thread out there relevant to my question, please let me know.

I've tiled kitchen and laundry, installed hardwood in LR, DR, and hallway. If I had squeaking in these areas I was able to silence with either deck screws or cabinet screws down through subfloor into joists.

Now prepping BR's for carpet. Have an area with loud squeaking in the dry winter months. Almost a popping sound rather than a squeak. I've screwed the subfloor down but it's made no change. Sound comes from area near center support beam under the house so I'm thinking it's joist and/or ridge beam related.

I've got a crawlspace so I can get to the area. What am I looking for and how do I go about fixing ?

If you are able to get under the floor easily enough, have someone walk on the floor where the squeak is coming from while you watch for movement from below. You should be able to spot it fairly easily.

What does the subfloor consists of? Is it more than one layer?

If you have two layers of plywood/OSB etc., then you could have movement in the upper layer which would be a little tougher to spot. You could also have a bad spot in the lower layer that is compressing, or unable to hold a screw.

Comment

squeaking subfloor

I'll get in the crawlspace and be looking while my wife walks above.

The subfloor is one layer of OSB. I've put so many screws in it that I'm hardpressed to believe the subfloor is loose on a joist. I'm leaning towards a joist being loose on the center support beam. Sound reasonable?