Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clogged Hot Water Lines

The down rod in my old water heater (I recently replaced it) began corroding and leaked into the hot water lines. Many people in my neighborhood had the same problem with their water heater (installed by the builder). I was able to flush the corrosion out of all but 2 of my lines by removing the screens from the faucets and running the water until they cleared. However, this didn't work for my kitchen sink and master bathroom shower. I only get a trickle of hot water from the kitchen sink, and the master bathroom is reduced but not too bad (we still use it). What I'd like to know is should I start taking things apart to find the problem? Is it possible to snake the lines to remove the clog?

FYI - I have limited plumbing experience - I can fix a toilet or replace a water heater, but haven't done much else.

Thanks very much for any help!

mike

by the "down rod" do you mean the sacrificial anode that screws into the tank? this is nothing more than a zinc rod that "coats" the tank if a scratch develops on the inside of the liner. or do you mean the "dip tube" that channels the cold water to the bottom of the tank? free ions of zinc in solution wouldn't block your faucet, I'd be more inclined to believe mineral deposits from hard water. are your lines galvanized iron? this would explain clogs inside. scale builds up within galvanized pipes. the mineral deposits wouldn't have much effect on copper lines.

Comment

Thanks for the response HayZee518.

It is the dip tube. The stuff coming out of my faucets almost looked like broken up pvc (flakes). Others in my neighborhood had the same problem - there was even a class-action lawsuit against the builder for putting in bad water heaters but this was before I owned the house.

The lines in my house are copper.

Comment