Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So, how do I fix this water damaged wall?

Collapse

Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So, how do I fix this water damaged wall?

As you can see, the damage is rather extensive, about 3' across and a 1.5' high.

I think that that's plaster underneath the paint, but I'm unsure what's underneath plaster. It does not appear to be concrete, as it breaks up rather easily into sandy bits.

Can I just break off the loose plaster and apply fresh plaster directly? Is there a bonding material I should use before I use plaster?

Please keep in mind I'm completely new to home repair; heck, I've never owned a house.

Thanks

Sorry, I cant link to other sites since im a n00b.

hxxp://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/Axis_of_Weasel/House%20Repair/DSC_5795.jpg
    hxxp://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/Axis_of_Weasel/House%20Repair/DSC_5796.jpg
    hxxp://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/Axis_of_Weasel/House%20Repair/DSC_5797.jpg
    hxxp://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/Axis_of_Weasel/House%20Repair/DSC_5798.jpg

early walls were made of studs covered by rough wooden lath spaced about 3/8" apart and nailed to the studs. soon after wood in the more "well to do" houses, metal lath [expanded metal" screening was used. the metal was not coated so it rusted.