Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this ceiling job too much for me?

I have a textured drywall ceiling that has a crack running all the way across from one side to the other. The crack is fairly straight so I believe there is a bad seam or tape job. I tried scraping off the texure with a sharp putty blade, but thats not doing the trick. Since I also want to install recessed lighting in the room I think I should just remove the entire ceiling and re- drywall the whole thing. I've never done anything like this before, but I am pretty handy. I will also have the help of a buddy. My question, is this something a first timer can do, or should I seek professional help? I will leave the wiring of the lights to an eletrician.

Replacing the drywall can be quite a nightmare for one that's not done it before. But there's always a first time. With the textured skim coat you have on the existing drywall, the pieces coming down are going to be heavy!! Check with your building inspector for the thickness required on the ceiling. Rent a drywall jack, in the long run you'll be glad you did. A 4X8 or a 4X10 piece of drywall is heavy even with a buddy helping you. Allows you to position the sheet overhead easily.
    Recessed lighting are called "cans" and are easy to put up. There are metal hangers supplied that nail into the joist members. Wiring is just paralleled to each other and onward to your switch(s)