Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shingles

Just wondering how many layers of shingles you should have on your roof until you have to take them all down. My roof looks like it might need to be redone soon and it already has two layers on it. Also if anyone has any tips of how to put shingles up that would be helpful cause I have never done it before. Thanks

Your at the max. now. Code states that you are allowed two layers and no more. In the south we never put shingles over old shingles the roofs are cleaned down to ply?OSB re felted and new shingles applied, much of the reason is because of sweating between layers of shingles.

It's not typically hard job to do, but there are quite a few steps that are very important to follow.
    1. Make sure you remove everything off the ply/OSB sheathing, all old felt and especially all old nails, don't hammer them in.
    2. Lay the felt starting at the eaves and roll across the roof, the second layer should overlap the first by at least 6" (if your in a snow area or have a low slope roof overlap by 12"). Snow areas will require ice dam stop roof covering instead of felt on the first row.
    3. Use a chalk line to line the roof across the roof so the shingles will follow the same line and be nice and straight, repeat this every row or every couple of rows if your confident.
    4. FOLLOW the manufacturers installation instructions...this is paramount especially in the nailing pattern, Nailing is not just whack in the nails, it is the single most important part to installing shingles. DO
    NOT over drive nails, the nail head should be nice and firm on top of the shingle, it should not break the shingle surface.

A tool that will make your life much easier....a shingle remover kinda looks like either a pitch fork or a flat shovel depending on the model.

Hope this helps.
    Last edited by pushkins; 08-27-2013, 07:02 PM.
    Little about a lot and a lot about a little.