Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Door won't stay down

Hello, I have a LiftMaster Model 1255R. It works fine using the remote control. However, when I have to manually raise the door (like when the power was out this morning), it comes up fine, but when I pull the door down, it won't stay down. When I pulled the rope to "unlock" it and raise it up, it went up very fast. When I pulled it down, it sratred up slow, then sped up.

I have search around trying to see what I need to do to get it to stay down when in "manual" mode, but I haven't found anything.

If anyone has some ideas or suggestions, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks.

The springs are the wrong ones, or the torsion spring is wound to tight. These things can hurt you very bad, dont attempt to adjust them, play it safe and call a repair man

Comment

Originally posted by jnaas2 View Post
      The springs are the wrong ones, or the torsion spring is wound to tight. These things can hurt you very bad, dont attempt to adjust them, play it safe and call a repair man
      OK, thanks for the reply. Since I hardly ever have to pull the door up / down manually, I was thinking about just living with it. do you think there would be any harm in that? Or, get some slide locks to put along the rails so that if I had to raise it, I could lower it and engage the locks to keep it from going up???

Comment

sounds like the springs or tension springs are out of whack. they should be adjusted to counter the door's weight so there's next to zero force needed to open or close the door. USE CAUTION. YOU COULD LOSE A COUPLA TEETH IF YOU'RE NOT CAREFUL!

Comment

Spring tension

You either have the wrong springs or too, many winds on the current ones. You could just live with it, but you risk potential injury to anyone whom might do what you did if the power goes out.