Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Painting Exterior Brick

We have a small section of decorative brick on the front of our house. I have been considering painting it, but I am not convinced. I was also thinking about tearing it out completely. (Our ranch house is quite deep, compared to the width across the front and the tiny section of brick is not prominent. Besides, it may be an outdated look. Our house was built in 1968) Let me know if you think I should paint the brick - and if so, what color. Or let me know if you think the brick should go. All opinions and comments welcome!

Well, your picture didn't make it, but I have seen some ranch homes that look quit nice w/ the brick painted. If the brick is crumbling, you may not want to paint. If its in good shape, go for it. Give us some more details and then we can talk about colors.

Todd

Comment

I'm not an expert in anything to do with houses, but I think that it would look better with the brick painted or removed. The brick draws attention to its self rather than looking at the house as a whole....just my opinion though. Your house has a nice shady feel to it and the shutters give it a charm![8)]

Comment

I agree that it draws attention, and in a bad way!
        Please help me by sharing your ideas

I was considering painting it black or charcoal (to match the roof). If I went with black, do you think I should leave the "mortar" white? Or paint all of the brick & mortar black?
        If not black, what color do you think would look good?