Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs help on GE Profile Dryer

Hello all, this is my first post here. I have experience working on mechanical stuff and using a voltmeter so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction as I'm new to appliance repair. A friend gave me a used GE Profile electric dryer. I don't have the model # here but it's a regular metal door model I believe the serial # is something like DPX...

His fiancee said it doesn't work on high heat and takes like 2 hours to dry a load of clothes. I plugged it in, switched the heat to high, turned the dial to Permanent Press "More Dry", and held the door switch button while looking in. I saw the coils in the back glowing red so I guess the coil is good. We dried a load of jeans and they dried in about an hour and a half, but the dial never moved off of "More Dry" and my wife said the jeans were a wrinkled up mess!

Then we tried drying using the timed cycle. The dial moved correctly for the timed cycle, but the clothes took over two hours to dry (it was a small load of light Tshirt type clothes) After an hour the clothes were only luke warm at best and very damp still. Also, I already made sure the vent from inside the dryer all the way to outside the house is totally clear, it's only about 6 or 8 feet long altogether.

I'm wondering what all might be bad and need to be checked or replaced. Any tips on things to test and how to do them would be greatly appreciated.

Model number?

** GE Profile electric dryer. I don't have the model # here but it's a regular metal door model **

I'm afraid that vague product description does not help to identify the product in question, only its exact and complete model number will. Please post that information so we can try to help.

You can find tips for locating the model and serial number identification tag on your appliances in the 'Repair Parts' section of my web site linked below.