Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm going nucking futs here!!!

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie who cannot, no matter how hard I try, figure this one out on my own. I'm hoping by posting here, someone can help me.

I live in a 2-story private house with 3 bedrooms on the second level. The second floor is the equivalent to living in Antartica and I'm NOT a polar bear! The vents for the heat don't work very well up here so my son, daughter, husband and I tried to resort to space heaters. However...we found we can only run ONE of them at any given time. If we try to run 2 of them, the breaker trips. I went so far as to buy all different types of heaters with various BTUs and it has not helped at all. We've also tried running different types at once to the same end result.

However, during the summer, we can all run 3 average-sized window air conditioners full blast at the same time and the breaker doesn't trip. They all get plugged into regular 120-volt outlet, not a 240-volt. We've used the heaters in other homes we lived in and never had this problem.

I'm so tired of being cold! Is there a logical reason for this to be happening and how [if at all] can I fix it?

Many thanks!
    Jessica

The first step of your problem would be to find out why your heat vents are not supplying a sufficient amount of heat.

First check your air filter. If the filter is dirty it will reduce the airflow and while there may still be a sufficient flow to maintain heat on the ground floor there may not be sufficient air flow to satisfy the further reaches of the duct system.

Check to make sure that the supply registers or return air grilles are not obstructed by furnishings or personal belongings. Return air grilles are especically critical because you cannot push air into a room unless there is provision for an equal volume or air to leave the room.