Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mysterious Behavior on my Window AC

Hi -

If I can save/repair my Air Conditioner I'd like to try. I'm not an engineer or electrician, but I'm "handy" and can follow instructions. Here's my problem...

The unit is a Friedrich 18,000 BTU unit, installed in a sleeve in a window of my apartment.

The unit will run fine for up to 20 minutes, with nice cold air blowing into the room. Then suddenly, the blowing air will stop, though the compressor sounds like it's still on. When this happens, I turn the unit off.

For several hours after one of these shut downs, I can't get the thing back up. If I press the "COOL" button, I hear the compressor, but there's no air blowing into the room. If I press the "FAN ONLY" button, absolutely NOTHING happens at all... no click, no hum, nothing. Just like pressing the button of a unit that's not plugged in.

Lastly, if I wait from several hours, to sometimes overnight, then I'm back up and running; with cool air blowing, but only for up to 20 minutes.

Also, if I shut the thing down BEFORE it stops blowing, I can reliably start it up again anytime I want. But if it runs long enough that it stops blowing on its own, then I have to wait several hours before I can use it again.

Any clues or proceedures for me to trouble shoot this problem? I can make simpler repairs if that's all that's needed. But a certain point, I guess I'd just buy a new one. This one is around 15 years old.

Many thanks for your help!
    Lance
    (SilverDollar)

check to see if the evaporator is freezing up. a coating of ice on the evap coils will stop air flow through it. lack of freon in the system most likely will freeze up the system. also if the room temp is somewhat lower than the unit will cause a freeze up.

Comment

It may need a good cleaning. Here's a link to show you what to do, let us know how it goes.

http://www.bobvila.com/HowTo_Library...ing-F2199.html

Comment

HayZee - thanks for your reply.