Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad toilet shut-off valve

Hope somebody can answer this question for me.

The shut-off valve of my toilet is leaking. At first I thought I'd just tighten the packing nut behind it a little, but I found that the nut was already tightened as much as It will go.

After the valve is a solid pipe going to the tank (no flex) and feeling behind the valve on the stub-out, I feel a small lump like you do sometimes when things are "sweated" on. It's probably the original plumbing from when the house was built in 1971.

My question is, is this something I can replace or do I need to call a plumber? I have no experience with soldering joints.

Dan
    Dan

Hey Dkpb, I'm sure someone else will answer your question in detail, but you should learn how to solder joints. It's really easy! I had never done any until about a year ago and I bought a 20.00 torch kit at home depot and now I solder stuff all over the house and could kick myself for the times I paid others to have it done. As long as the pipes are clean, smooth and dry, its a cinch. Buy a couple pieces of copper and practice in your garage a few times. You can be doing it like a pro in no time.

Comment

soldering a new valve in place that close to the wall can often present a real challenge.

A much simpler solution would be to cut the existing valve off the copper stub out, clean the end of the copper real well with a piece of emery cloth and attach a compression type angle stop valve.

Technically the copper lines in our homes are copper pipe, therefore they are measured by their internal diameter thus your 1/2" copper pipe has a 1/2" internal diameter and a 5/8" outside diameter.

The compression valve will need to fit on the outside of the pipe so you will need a 5/8"compression x 3/8"compression angle stop valve.