Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basement rough in

DIYer, till the going gets rough, anyways...

Can anyone tell me the standard heights for putting in water lines for shower, sink, etc? My 20 year old basement is roughed in for a full 3 piece bath, but i have to run the water lines over.

Other questions:

1. copper or new "plastic" ?(pbex, i think) which would you recommend. the house is currently copper supply.

2. what would be the ideal order for finishing the bathroom - start with electrical, then plumbing, wallboard, flooring, fixtures? Any suggestions appreciated.

I have replaced most of the existing plumbing fixtures in my house and run a new supply line for an outside hose bib, so i have some experience with this, but there are always new things to experience!!

thanks.

There are no code specific heights at which we must place the drain lines or shower mixer controls, however there are some code specifics that will influence there positioning by example, the maximum allowable vertical space from the drain opening in a lavatory bowl to the actual water level in the P-trap may not exceed 24". (Some local codes limit it to 12"). Typically the drain waste arm for the lavatory is installed on the centerline of the bowl and 14-18" above the finished floor. I find 16" to be a comfortable height to get the P-trap and tailpiece installed without problems.

Most bathroom lavatory faucett inputs are 4" on center. It is then customary to install the stub outs for the lavatory water supply angle stops about 2" to 4" higher than the centerline of the drain waste arm and spaced 4" to 6" center to center horizontally. (2" to 3" on either side of the drain centerline.)

The standard "Backset" for a watercloset flange is 12" from the center of the flange to the finished wall behind the watercloset. (there are 10" & 14" offsets available for special applications).