Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't get this old faucet out!

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to remove this kitchen faucet to replace it with a newer one. I'm not sure I'm going about it the right way. I'm a complete novice with all home repair things and the last time I replaced a kitchen faucet it had a plastic nut that made the process very simple.

This time though I think that it is a brass nut under the sink. I've gotten a basin wrench, but the thing wont budge. The nut seems so shallow I'm not even sure that is what I need to remove. I don't think this is a bottom mounting faucet, but I'm not sure. (again, the novice thing..)

Am I going about this the right way? If so, what can I do to try and loosen this up more? It seems like the basin wrench barely fits over that nut, and I think when I try to put pressure on it, it slips down to the threads below it.

Here are a few pictures. Thanks for your help!

that brass nut has got to come off. if you have the room get a "crowfoot" open end wrench with an extension bar and ratchet. looks like the supply line is soldered directly into the fixture too! most supply lines use a flexible hose with the appropriate gland nut.

Comment

So I've gone back in there and really cranked on it..

The way I understand it, that nut needs to thread down until it falls loose near the supply lines.

When I exert alot of force on the nut, the entire assembly moves slightly (say, 5 degrees or so) back and forth, but it is obviously not threading down at all.

I'm not sure how to keep that threading stationary, I don't have any clamps or anything (but I could get one if that's the trick) - are there any solutions that could dissolve some of that buildup around the threads?

Comment