Collapse

Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to repair cracked cast drain pipe?

I'm a newbie, and I've REALLY enjoyed browsing the subjects. Thanks for the great source of info!

My daughter bought a house built in 1920. Noticed when she's in the shower a leak from the drain. Long story short, the drain pipe running down the wall in the first floor is cracked and leaking. It's black metal and I'm not sure if it's cast or not (doesn't look like to me).

The pipe must have been blocked and it froze (upstate NY).

The vent stack continues up through the second floor and the roof, so I'd like to avoid replacing if possible. That's a lot of weight up there!

Is there something I can do to seal the crack and have it done well? I don't want to do a crummy job, I want the repair to last (for obvious reasons!)

Thanks so much!

Sully

You need fernco bands. they are rubber and specifically desighned for joinning drain pipes.
    You will have to cut the bad part of the pipe out. If it's cast iorn , you will need a chain cutter. you might be able to rent one. I have cut them with a new metal blade in a saw-zaw. Like you said this pipe may have some weight you should tie it off up above some how before you cut it.

On a scale of 1-10 as far as difficulty I would give it a 4.5.

Comment

Thank you BuckofDurham! The crack is near the top of the first floor wall. It has already been replaced in the basement with PVC. I wonder if I should just cut it off at the top of the first floor ceiling and replace it from there down to the other PVC. That seems to make sense while I'm doing it.

My biggest worry is how to tie it off up above. Not very easy access...

Comment

Originally posted by sully3191 View Post