Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shower drain problems .....

hello .... i woke up this morning to a wet spot on my basement ceiling....after further investagation i found out it was coming from my shower drain...... heres a few pictures i took.... as u can see the piece of abs pipe is lose and u can push it up and down pic 3....how should i go about resealing the connection ???? im a total newbie thats why i joined this site ...thanks
    Last edited by espcrowe; 03-07-2010, 06:29 PM. Reason: spelling

It looks like you have pretty good access to the fitting if you can pull it apart completely it would be ideal, brush on some cleaner to where the fitting join on both the pipe and the fitting, when the area is dry (60 seconds) apply a coat of glue to both surfaces then quickly push the two back together and hold them together for 30 seconds....job done.
    The glue and cleaner are available at Lowe's and H/Depot and all hardware stores in little tins, just make sure the outside of the tin says for ABS use.

If you cannot get the two apart easily then pull them as far apart as you can, wipe them clean and apply the cleaner and glue as mentioned above to the pipe section, push it back in and hold it there for 30 seconds. Not ideal but should work just as well.
    Little about a lot and a lot about a little.
    Every day is a learning day.

Comment

I like these a lot!

Davke© "The Dream Drain"
      I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.
      Now I can Plumb!

For great information on the history of sanitary sewers including the use of Redwood Pipe
      Visit http://www.sewerhistory.org/
      Did you know some Redwood Pipe is still in service today.

Comment

i really dont have good access i can only get one arm in but im going to give it a try.... how much glue should i use ???..thanks for your help....

Comment