Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best way to cover crown molding gaps.

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum and wanted to say hello first!

So my problem:

I installed crown molding for the first time and the connecting areas have a small seam as they should. My dad started calking before sanding the edges down and well now that it's all painted it's looks like a 5 year old installed it.

I need to know the best way to just get these joins looking like one piece, I have a dremel and sand paper and i'm thinking I just need to sand everything back down to the wood in these areas and start over. What's the best product you use to mesh these pieces together and what tools should I use to get a smooth finish.

Sorry if this is a very no0ob question but i'm at the point where the wife is starting the "should of hired someone" comments.

Thanks for any help provided!

Greg

When you say "caulk" are you referring to wood putty or actual caulk (like in a tube and flexible) ?

The joints in crown should be very close so that only a small amount of wood putty fills any gap or imperfections, then after it is dried it is hand sanded with a small piece of sandpaper. I say hand sanded as it is much easier for most people to use and ensure that they don't sand too much and change the crown molding profile.
    If flexible caulk was used it's impossible to sand it and it will shred when sanded. In this case it will be much easier to remove the caulk and then re apply wood putty.
    As for the application, your mother and father gave you the best tool known.....your fingers , always apply in the direction that pushes the putty into the joint, you can leave a little extra on the joint to allow for shrinkage or just apply a second application if required. Whatever you do do not leave a lot on there as sanding a big build up of putty is a pain in the butt.