Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Liftmaster Help - motor, ckt board or ??

Collapse

Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liftmaster Help - motor, ckt board or ??

I have a Liftmaster 2220-267 1/2hp screw drive - ckt. board 41A5389-1C. We had a power failure due to local tornado. When we returned home and going to bed (no power) I secured the garage door to the rail so it couldn't be lifted. I also thought that I released the arm. It seems that later that night the power came back on, the arm engaged and tried to lift the door. When I awoke I heard a "hum" from the motor I suspect so it likely had been trying to lift the door for a few hours. By the time I reached the unit it was,,, well it wasn't humming anymore. The lights work via the remote and wall switch but the motor doesn't engage. The top of the opener also was warm/hot .

Questions: 1. What fried? Ckt board? If so, is there a difference in the 1, 1C, 1D or 1E boards that I see for sale ro were they just later versions? 2. Could the motor be fried? If so, I think a new opener is in order. 3. Anything else likely gone bad? 4. If a new opener is the solution, will the new series - 3240 fit my rails? The new unit comes w/ a one piece rail and I can't tell if the slide is the same fitment or not. The coupling/rail sprocket look the same on paper at least.

Thanks for any input!

Well having taken the unit down and removing the cover ...it seems to work. But now, ....see my next post please.
    Last edited by toomanyhobbies; 04-19-2011, 06:22 AM.

Comment

There's probably a high temperature switch on the motor that's probably why it stopped working until it cooled down and now works.