Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question from a total novice.

hi guys im new here.just a quick one.i want to replace a lightswitch in the bathroom.is finding the breaker/fuse that runs that switch all i need to do in terms of safety?

thanx much.

dan

Pretty much.
    Illegitimas non-carborundum

Comment

the bathroom lighting may be on its own circuit or be fed from another lighting circuit. if it is inside a two gang box that also houses an outlet (gfci) the gfci may be on its own breaker if the guy that put it in was following the dedicated requirement. don't just assume that because this switch is in the bathroom, that switching off the bathroom breaker is gonna kill this circuit. look for any/all possibilities AND when you are absolutely positive that there is no current on the switch and adjacent conductors should you even attempt a repair.

Comment

there is also an outlet right next to the switch.can i just shut down all the circuit breakers for before i do the repair?how can i test if a circuit is still live or not without frying myself?

thanx for any help.

Comment

You can pick up an inexpensive tester at any hardware store, or you can use a multimeter. If you pick up an induction tester, note that you can get false current detection if the wire you are testing is running next to another wire that has current flowing through it
          'Just a handyman trying to help'

Comment

so will a multimeter work better?and what is the process of testing a circuit using a multimeter?

Comment