Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No medium speed on fan

I have a Casablanca floor model 19N8F fan, 110VAC. It has worked well for several years (and is out of warranty) until recently. It has a off-3 speed switch. Off works. Low speed works. Medium speed stays the same as low speed. High speed works. So it is missing the medium speed. I would like to fix it myself (I am a mechanical engineer and routinely do home wiring) - what should I look for when I open it up? Is a loose wire likely? What part am I likely to need? I am checking but I think Casablanca would just want to replace the whole thing ($$$) rather than fix it ($$).

Thanks! Bill_H

Originally posted by Bill_H View Post
    I have a Casablanca floor model 19N8F fan, 110VAC. It has worked well for several years (and is out of warranty) until recently. It has a off-3 speed switch. Off works. Low speed works. Medium speed stays the same as low speed. High speed works. So it is missing the medium speed. I would like to fix it myself (I am a mechanical engineer and routinely do home wiring) - what should I look for when I open it up? Is a loose wire likely? What part am I likely to need? I am checking but I think Casablanca would just want to replace the whole thing ($$$) rather than fix it ($$).

Thanks! Bill_H
    Hi Paul here. i am not a fan man, but have done heating and cooling for 40 years. I guess you would have to find out is the motor an single speed with a speed controller on it or is the motor a 3 speed motor with 3 winding's in it?.
    So it could be a rheostat bad, or you might have a bad winding. Of course like you said, you have to check all wires. Paul

Comment