Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

girl says: nothing happens when i turn it on!

Collapse

Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• girl says: nothing happens when i turn it on!

Hey forum, i'm a single girl, living alone, and woke up freezing this morning! since i'm sleepin alone i figured i'd have to turn on my furnace and get the heat going...

well, i turn the thermostat on and NOTHING happens.
    I went down to the basement and nothing was happening down there either, no blue light coming from the (old) furnace.
    now i'm scared the house will blow up! [xx(]

i opened the front panel and there are no instructions on how to light the pilot... i did find a lever and turned it to "OFF" though.
    can somebody wise help me?

i'm new at this homeowning thing!

Welcome to the forum!

First of all, if your pilot light is not on, then make sure the gas isn't on either! Otherwise it could be very dangerous.

Do you know what brand it is? If you can give us some more information, I am sure someone can help. Maybe even find a manual for it online.

16x80, sounds right up your alley. Got any ideas?

Try

Comment

hmmm, i just checked it out and all it says is FEDDERS. it's dark brown... and that's literally all i can tell you.

i know the unit is at least 12 years old is what i've been told. it's been "rigged" in several odd ways.

i just want it to work. guess i'm going to have to call someone.

Comment

Hi:

I am having similar problem. Heating system doesn't work at all. Fan works, A/C works. Heating worked few weeks ago. So, I am going to look in the crawl-space to see if I need to replace the filter. I have never gone in the crawl-space and don't know what to look for in the heating system.

Can anyone give me some basic ideas? Is the pilot light similar to the one on water heater? Also, if the pilot is off, you mentioned to make sure gas is off too. How do I make sure gas is off too if the pilot light is off?