Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• electric furnace installed horizontal

I feel a bit dumb asking this considering I was a licensed hvac contractor for years..but it was years ago and I mostly dealt with gas and yes even oil furnaces back then..but here goes anyhow..haha

Can an electric furnace be installed in any position? I have heard some can.

I saw one site showing how to install it horizontal..I think it was maybe carrier..but don't quote me on that might have been some other brand. They were more specific about the a/c evap box than the furnace itself..

It was an upflow but could be installed horizontal as well

Is this something I should ask the manufacturer about or research about the particular model?

It's a lennox I have for whatever that is worth, it is an old furnace but still works great since I virtually replaced every component in it with new ones. But sadly no manual for it that I can find so far.

Thanks

the furnaces they make today can be bought to be used in the horz. but on one of the older model i think i would want to check with the manufacturer on that so you don't get in trouble. Some of the new one are all position, some are up and horz. or down and horz.
    I am a old heating man to but i don't think i would try that with out checking. Later paul

if you come up with the model and ser. no. i can check my old lennox books I have not sold lennox
    far a long time but i still have the old books. Do you know what age it is?
    Last edited by paul52446m; 11-20-2009, 11:22 PM.

Comment

thanks paul..I will try and contact them..and ask..hopefully they can give me a straight answer..as some big companies don't seem interested in supporting their past products

Comment

Hi Paul. sorry took me so long for the info. I contacted Lennox, but they was clueless. Here is what I found on the cover panel.

Lennox

ES2D-341-2
        (with secondary Fan Control)
        523,196W