Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• okay, i'm not an idiot but...41 problems

This thing is about to put me over the edge. I am a 40 year veteran of service to Mercedes, Ferrari and other high line euro cars, know a little about a lot of things and this little heater is about to eat my lunch

Unit = Monitor 41 about 12 or 15 years old - has not given a minutes grief the entire time. It operates in a clean environment with the electronics being protected by a decent surge protector.

Problem = About three weeks ago the heater began to act weird. It would heat and cycle properly for a few days and then begin a peculiar gyration. It would heat and then refuse to cycle. Instead the flame LED began to flash and the machine would cycle down not to re-light.

As the days passed the intervals between lift off and shut down with the flashing flame light became shorter until the heater became just about useless.

I pulled the lid off of the burner pot and couldn't find/see anything wrong. I tested the fuel and replaced the tank filter outside and then checked the in-unit strainer. It was clean a whistle.

Then I called a service tech who advertises himself as being enlightened in the ways of Monitors. He replaced the mat at the bottom of the chamber, the dome thingy that fits over that and the metal probe and line that fits into the side of the burner pot and runs over to the main circuit board.