Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ouch! Got a shocker...

So, new home manufactured by Palm Harbor, with a garage added by contractor.

Climbed up on the roof to check on a flue cap for the water heater, and as I grabbed the gutter I got a shock that was pretty substantial.

I went and grabbed my meter, and just by sticking the common probe into the ground and touching the red to the gutter I got 66 - 72 volts.

Now, I am not an expert, but I'm certain gutters don't carry juice.

I checked the gutter on the other side of the house and got 108 volts.

Working with a partner, I shut off breakers until the juice went away.

The offending breaker powers the laundry room light, and two exterior lights.

So, I have no lights - but my gutters won't kill anyone either.

All four gutter downspouts showed voltage to ground, and none of them are connected together - the gutters are in four separate pieces.

The roof is wet, so maybe it is conducting? The gutter ends are each shoved into PVC that goes into the ground and a common drain system, so in theory they are somewhat insulated from the ground immediately around the house.

Thoughts?

your next "train of thought" is to restore power to the system and use a battery operated drill with a screwdriver tip and remove screws one at a time until you find the culprit. if nails are used remove them one at a time [with power OFF] and recheck for zero volts. I would tend to believe the downspouts are the problem. they, being at the corners, they may have penetrated any home runs along the vertical corner framing lumber. wires are nailed up along the inside of a stud space. removing a nail [one which may have penetrated the cable insulation] but not fully engaging a ground or neutral is your problem.

Comment

Do you have aluminum siding or trim?